Financial Assistance

Financial Assistance

The Jackson Symphony Orchestra awards assistance based on need. Please download the application for instructions for how to apply. Contact us if you would like more information on the application process.

The Stephen Osmond Scholarship

Offered by the Jackson Symphony Guild

Maestro Stephen Osmond has expertly led the Jackson Symphony Orchestra through 40 seasons and helped create an artistic, musical culture specific to Jackson that will continue for many years to come. This level of commitment and dedication to bringing top-level musical performance and outreach to the Jackson area is the basis of the Jackson Symphony Guild’s Stephen Osmond Scholarship.

This $1000 tuition award represents the largest scholarship offered by the Guild and Community Music School, and shall be granted to a current CMS student who has already demonstrated clear dedication and commitment to our school and community. This student must have been enrolled for a minimum of 4 years at our school and demonstrated a significant level of student leadership, community service, volunteering, and outreach. The winner of this scholarship shall be selected by Guild representatives based on application and teacher recommendation, and they will serve as a CMS student ambassador, representing our school and organization throughout the following year at various types of outreach concerts, Guild-sponsored events, and schools.

This scholarship is non-renewable, and any previous Stephen Osmond Scholarship winners are not eligible for consideration. Students must attend lessons or classes on a regular basis throughout the year and agree to all the terms and conditions of this award, including required performances and volunteering opportunities (ample notice shall be given to the student).

Mary Spring Scholarship

Since Mary’s legacy was one of achieving excellence in all that she did, we will be giving an annual award to the Community Music School’s most outstanding student in the area of excellence in musical achievement. The award winner will be featured as a soloist each year at our JSG Annual Meeting in May. To donate please call the JSO at 517-782-3221 to pick up a donation envelope. Checks should be made payable to the Jackson Symphony Guild with Mary Spring in the memo portion.


Mary Spring

2020 Recipient
Emily Crews

2019 Recipient
Haley Gipson

2018 Recipient
Ian Shasha

2017 Recipient
Abigail Fox


2016 Recipient
Laura Coleman

Want to Help?

Please click here to donate.